GYR Working Groups

The Gutenberg Council for Young Researchers (GYR) initiates working groups on current topics for the promotion of young academics and artists. These working groups include members of the executive committee, academics from various disciplines with varying levels of qualifications, as well as others who are involved at JGU. The GYR coordinates the working groups and takes care of processing requests within the committee as well as their communication to the university management board.

Current working groups

Since the tenure track professorship has been established as a regular career path in Germany, questions regarding the possible impact on qualification models such as habilitation, junior research group leadership, junior professorship without tenure track and assistantships are a constant occurence. Taking its cue from these questions, the GYR working group (Career Paths to a) German Professorship in Transition? focusses on the different academic career paths and possible changes in the selection process for regular professorships. The questions of which changes the next decade will bring regarding the support of junior staff and how conditions must be adapted at JGU in order to attract promising new talents and also support researchers during their career planning play a major role.

Those interested in collaboration are welcome to e-mail the GYR Management.

Led by: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Susanne Foitzik (Faculty 10)

Other contributors: Dr. Mark Bajohrs (Faculty 10), Sakine Dilmen (Faculty 02), Prof. Dr. Florian Hett (Faculty 03), Dr. Maria Lau (Stabsstelle GuD), Prof. Dr. Eva-Maria Roelevink (Faculty 07), Prof. Dr. Ute Hellmich (Faculty 09), Julia Häuser-Huth (managing director GYR)

Former contributors: Sakine Dilmen (Faculty 02), Katharina Kunißen (Faculty 02), Johanna Seibert (Faculty 05).

The GYR put together a working group to represent doctoral candidates at JGU as an independent interest group and to make their voices heard. At the same time, the greatly varying disciplinary cultures and individual paths towards a doctoral degree should be taken into account.

As a first step, an extended session will take place in autumn of 2017 to discuss measures that have already been initiated, as well as those planned for the future. The following topics will be considered: Orientation day for doctoral candidates in 2018, the doctoral candidate assembly, integrating information that already exists into a mailing list and the status of changes in the Higher Education Act.

Doctoral candidates who are interested in a collaboration can get in touch with the office of the GYR via e-mail.

Led by: Clara Wörsdörfer (Faculty 07)

Other contributors: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Michèle Wessa (Faculty 02), Jasmin Fitzpatrick (Faculty 02, Politikwissenschaft), Stefan Baumgart (FB 08), Dr. Mark Bajohrs (Faculty 10), Max Meinhardt (Faculty 07), Julia Häuser-Huth (managing director GYR)

Former contributors: William Lindlahr (Faculty 08), Charlotte Kieslich (Faculty 06)

Led by: Dr. Mark Bajohrs (Faculty 10) in cooperation with the International Office.

Prospective candidates can get in touch with Mr. Bajohrs via e-mail.

Former working groups

During the constitution phase, the GYR was supported by four working groups. The working groups’ goal was to make JGU’s offerings more visible, to better coordinate the measures already in place as well as to get new incentive measures up and running.

Contributors: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Michèle Wessa (Faculty 02), William Lindlahr (Faculty 08), Charlotte Kieslich (Faculty 06)

Led by: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Mita Banerjee (Faculty 05)

Other contributors: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ulrich Volp (Faculty 01), Jasmin Fitzpatrick (Faculty 02), Christina Köhler (Faculty 02), Matthias Lotz (Faculty 02), Univ.-Prof. Dr. Christina E. Bannier (Faculty 03), Dr. Silke Bechler (Faculty 07), Univ.-Prof. Dr. Tanja Pommerening (Faculty 07), Stefanie Buss (managing director GYR), Julia Häuser-Huth (ZQ)

Led by: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Esther von Stebut-Borschitz (Faculty 04), William Lindlahr (Faculty 08)

Other contributors: Reinhard Heinke (Faculty 08), Dr. Petra Schwarz (Faculty 04), Univ.-Prof. Dr. Rudolf Zentel (Faculty 09), Dr. Mark Bajohrs (managing director Faculty 10), Sara Beros (Faculty 10), Andreas Blatt (Faculty 10), Univ.-Prof. Dr. Harald Paulsen (Faculty 10), Stefanie Buss (managing director GYR), Dr. Michael Fuchs (managing director graduate school MAINZ), Univ.-Prof. Dr. Mathias Kläui (director GYR), Prof. Dr. Katharina Landfester (MPI for Polymer Research)

Led by: Dr. Kerstin Thomas (Faculty 07)

Other contributors: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Michéle Wessa (Faculty 02), Dr. Tim Lanzendörfer (Faculty 05), Jun.-Prof. Dr. David Oels (Faculty 05), Jun.-Prof. Dr. Christian Thein (Faculty 05), Jun.-Prof. Dr. Oliver Čulo (Faculty 06), Dr. Benjamin Conrad (Faculty 07), Bernhard Dietz (Faculty 07), Eva Maria Verst (IEG), Stefanie Buss (managing director GYR)

Led by: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Susanne Foitzik (Faculty 10)

Other contributors: Stefanie Buss (managing director GYR), Jun.-Prof. Dr. Gabriele Honecker (Faculty 08), Jun.-Prof. Dr. Lucia Masetti (Faculty 08), Stefanie Meyer (Office of Gender Affairs and Equal Oportunities), Dr. Ana Rogulja-Ortmann (Faculty 10), Univ.-Prof. Dr. Esther von Stebut-Borschitz (Faculty 04), Lena Zimmer (ZQ)